Researched comparison
Best Practice Management Software for Solo Estate Planning Attorneys in 2026
- By the Rubrilyn Editorial Team
- Published
- Updated
- Last verified
Disclosure. Rubrilyn may earn a fee from some links on this page, and some placements are paid and labelled. Neither one decides the order. See our disclosure.
Clio Manage is the best practice management software for most solo estate planning attorneys in 2026. Trust and operating account reconciliation sit on every plan, plans start at $49 per user per month, and unlimited storage and 24/5 support come standard. The client portal and AI need Core or higher, so solos who want full accounting plus built-in document automation should price CosmoLex.
Key takeaways
- Clio Manage is our top pick: trust reconciliation on every plan, from $49 per user per month, unlimited storage and unlimited training and support.
- Trust accounting varies: Clio and CosmoLex include it on every plan, PracticePanther reserves it for Business Pro, and MyCase charges $39 extra per user per month.
- Watch the add-ons: Clio Draft and Clio Grow sit outside base plans, and Smokeball sells Intake, AutoTime and AI as paid add-ons.
- Trials run 7 to 10 days at Clio, PracticePanther, MyCase and CosmoLex.
- Price source: Clio, checked 2 Nov 2026.
Comparison
Prices are in USD, taken from each vendor's own pages on 2 Nov 2026, except where marked as quote only.
| Tool | Best for | Standout feature | Price range | Free plan/trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clio Manage | Most solos | Trust accounting every plan | From $49 per user per month (2 Nov 2026) | 7-day free trial |
| PracticePanther | Solos wanting clear prices | Full tier pricing published | $49 per user per month (2 Nov 2026) | 7-day free trial |
| MyCase | Solos wanting free migration | Free migration, IOLTA included | $50 per user per month (2 Nov 2026) | 10-day free trial |
| CosmoLex | Solos wanting native accounting | Full accounting every plan | $99 per user per month (2 Nov 2026) | 10-day free trial |
| Smokeball | Estate planners wanting desktop app | Desktop plus web app | Quote only (2 Nov 2026) | None stated |
| LEAP | Solos wanting state forms | State-specific forms bundled | Quote only (2 Nov 2026) | None stated |
How we choose
We compared 12 tools and selected the 6 best for a solo estate planning attorney. We ranked each product with these editorial weights:
- Document automation and estate planning templates (25)
- Trust and firm accounting (20)
- Client intake, e-signature and portal (15)
- Billing, time tracking and payments (15)
- Calendaring and task management (10)
- Pricing transparency (10)
- Setup and migration support (5)
Our full method is on our scoring method. Prices were checked on 2 Nov 2026.
Figures come from each vendor's own pages; "Not stated" means the vendor does not publish it.
| Tool | Typical setup time | Data migration help | Training included | Watch out |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clio Manage | Not stated | Complimentary migration for many common systems | Unlimited training and support on every plan | Only the entry price is published |
| PracticePanther | Days, not weeks | Onboarding and migrations team; cost not stated | Live training; Solo gets 1 session, Essential 3, Business and up unlimited | Capped training and Basic support on lower tiers |
| MyCase | Migration in 3 to 5 business days | Free data migration included in the subscription | Guided implementation and live training sessions free | Dedicated onboarding manager needs a minimum user count |
| Smokeball | Not stated | Migration options available; costs confirmed in quote | Onboarding on every plan with live sessions and the Smokeball Academy | Migration cost is quote only |
| CosmoLex | One to two weeks | Dedicated onboarding specialists; migration cost not stated | Free live Kick-Start Sessions and group training on every plan | Onboarding and migration fees not stated |
| LEAP | Not stated | Trial data transition is a roadmap step; implementation fees may apply | LEAP Academy access and training included | Onboarding delivered by a certified partner |
Best for most solo estate planning attorneys.
Clio Manage starts at $49 per user per month on its pricing page (checked 2 Nov 2026), with four plans named Starter, Core, Signature and Elite; only the entry price is published. Every plan includes trust and operating account reconciliation, unlimited storage, calendaring with two-way sync, templated task groups, a mobile app, and unlimited training and support. AI and the client portal are Core and above; Clio Draft and Clio Grow sit outside the base plans.
Pros:
- Trust and operating reconciliation on every plan, with no minimum users.
- Unlimited document storage and unlimited training and support on every plan.
- Approved by 100 plus bar associations; firm data never trains AI models.
Cons:
- Only the entry price is published; per-tier prices require a demo.
- AI and the client portal are Core and above; Starter is thin for estate planning needs.
- Clio Grow leads are billed per hired matter on top of the subscription, and Clio Draft is a separate add-on.
- Price source: Clio, checked 2 Nov 2026.
Price: Starting at $49 per user per month (checked 2 Nov 2026).
Who should skip it: solos who want full tier pricing published or document automation in the base price.
Unique detail: custom roles are limited to 2 on Core and unlimited from Signature up.
Best for solos who want published per-tier prices.
PracticePanther publishes four plans on its pricing page (checked 2 Nov 2026): Solo at $59 per user per month ($49 annually), Essential at $79 ($69), Business at $99 ($89) and Business Pro at $124 ($114), with a 7-day free trial and no credit card. All plans include document templates, task and event workflows, time and expense tracking, a client portal and unlimited storage. Intake forms, two-way texting and native e-signature arrive on Business and above; full trust and operating accounting is Business Pro only.
Pros:
- Full tier pricing published with a dedicated Solo plan, the clearest price menu of the six.
- Native ePayments and native e-signature with unlimited sends on Business and above.
- Live private training with a dedicated customer success manager; training counts are stated openly.
Cons:
- Trust accounting exists only on Business Pro, the $124/$114 top tier; IOLTA needs mean the most expensive plan.
- Native e-signature and intake forms require Business or higher; the $49 Solo tier excludes them.
- Live trainings are capped at 1 on Solo and 3 on Essential, and support is Basic below Business.
- Price source: PracticePanther, checked 2 Nov 2026.
Price: Solo from $49 per user per month billed annually (checked 2 Nov 2026).
Who should skip it: estate planners who need trust accounting or e-signature at the entry price.
Unique detail: the pricing page states Basic versus VIP support tiers and training counts per plan.
Best for solos who want free migration and a 10-day trial.
MyCase publishes three plans on its pricing page (checked 2 Nov 2026): Basic at $50 per user per month billed annually ($60 monthly), Pro at $100 ($120) and Advanced at $130 ($150), with a 10-day free trial and no credit card. Every plan includes IOLTA trust protection at no extra cost, a client portal, secure messaging, time and expense tracking, and legal calendaring. Pro and above add document generation, e-signature, intake forms, automated workflows, two-way texting and an open API. Data migration is free, completing in as little as 3 to 5 business days, with guided implementation included.
Pros:
- IOLTA trust protection included on every plan at no extra cost, plus free data migration and guided implementation.
- A 10-day trial with no credit card, and no setup fee or long-term contract.
- Online payments through LawPay with no monthly fee.
Cons:
- True three-way trust reconciliation costs an extra $39 per user per month on Pro and Advanced.
- Basic excludes intake, e-signature, workflows, document generation and integrations; all users share one firm-level tier.
- Paid fees are non-refundable, and support runs Mon-Fri 6am-5pm PST, not 24/7.
- Price source: MyCase, checked 2 Nov 2026.
Price: Basic from $50 per user per month billed annually (checked 2 Nov 2026).
Who should skip it: solos who need e-signature or intake at the entry price, or three-way reconciliation without an add-on.
Unique detail: free migration in as little as 3 to 5 business days.
Best for solos who want accounting built into every plan.
CosmoLex's pricing page shows Core and Pro plans with demo CTAs and no per-plan prices; its ROI calculator page states Core at $99 and Pro at $129 per user per month (pricing, ROI calculator, checked 2 Nov 2026). A 10-day free trial needs no credit card. Every plan includes full legal accounting for trust, operating and business accounts without QuickBooks, a built-in client portal, document automation with merge-field templates, calendaring with auto-synced deadlines, time tracking and invoicing, and CosmoLex Pay. An AI form builder converts existing Word and PDF forms, and most firms complete onboarding in one to two weeks.
Pros:
- Full trust, operating and business accounting built into every plan at no extra charge, the only vendor here to do so.
- Document automation, versioning and AI summaries are part of the platform, not per-user add-ons.
- Free live Kick-Start Sessions cover setup, billing and trust accounting.
Cons:
- Per-plan prices are not on the pricing page; exact figures require a demo or phone call.
- Intake CRM, Websites, LexSign and LexShare are paid add-ons excluded from the trial, which allows only a single bank feed.
- AI capabilities roll out by tier, so lower plans get less AI; onboarding and migration fees are not stated.
- Price source: CosmoLex (checked 2 Nov 2026).
Price: Core $99 per user per month, per the vendor's ROI page (checked 2 Nov 2026).
Who should skip it: solos who want every price on the pricing page, or e-signature in the base plan.
Unique detail: AI filtering with natural-language search is included, not sold as an add-on.
Best for estate planners who want desktop plus web.
Smokeball publishes no prices on its pricing page (checked 2 Nov 2026); every plan shows "Get pricing" and figures are quote-based. Plans are Bill, Boost, Grow and Prosper+, with no stated free trial. Trust accounting and reporting sit on every plan, including the standalone Bill tier. Grow and above add document automation with practice-area templates and calculators, Microsoft 365 integration, and a desktop app with the web app. The client portal is Boost and above; intake is included in Prosper+ and a paid add-on below. E-signatures are unlimited with InfoTrack.
Pros:
- Trust accounting and reporting on every plan, including a standalone Bill tier.
- Practice-area templates and calculators plus automatic time capture suit document-heavy estate work.
- A native desktop application pairs with the web app.
Cons:
- No public pricing; figures are quote-based and migration costs are confirmed only in the quote.
- Grow is designed for firms with three or more staff, an awkward fit for a solo.
- Paid add-ons stack up: Intake, AutoTime, Archie AI, Workflows; key integrations are restricted on Boost.
- Price source: Smokeball (checked 2 Nov 2026), quote only.
Price: Quote only (checked 2 Nov 2026).
Who should skip it: solos who need published prices or a stated trial, and one-person firms eyeing the Grow tier.
Unique detail: the Bill tier is free to members of several state bars.
Best for solos who want state-specific forms bundled in.
LEAP publishes no pricing page; its homepage FAQ (checked 2 Nov 2026) describes a per-user subscription covering case management, document automation, legal accounting and billing, with pricing by quote and no free trial stated. The platform bundles state-specific matter types and legal forms across the contiguous US, document automation that populates forms from matter data, legal accounting and billing with trust fund requests, automatic time capture, a LEAP AI suite, a client portal with LawConnect signing, and integrations with Microsoft 365, QuickBooks Online, Xero, InfoTrack and WealthCounsel.
Pros:
- A jurisdiction-specific forms and matter-type library bundled with document automation.
- Legal accounting, billing and trust fund requests in the same system, no separate bookkeeping tool.
- The WealthCounsel integration targets estate planning workflows.
Cons:
- No public pricing; "Contact LEAP for pricing based on your firm's needs."
- Implementation fees and some third-party integration costs may apply.
- No free trial; evaluation is demonstration only.
- Price source: LEAP (checked 2 Nov 2026), quote only.
Price: Quote only (checked 2 Nov 2026).
Who should skip it: solos who want published prices, a trial, or first-party onboarding.
Unique detail: a published 7-step roadmap from stakeholder demo to LEAP Academy training.
Which practice management software is cheapest for a solo estate planner?
PracticePanther Solo at $49 per user per month billed annually is the lowest published tier price, followed by MyCase Basic at $50 and Clio Manage from $49. But Solo excludes e-signature, intake forms and trust accounting, so a solo who needs those may pay less overall with MyCase Pro or Clio Core. Price source: PracticePanther, checked 2 Nov 2026.
Is Clio Manage or CosmoLex better for a solo estate planner?
Clio Manage wins on entry price ($49) and ecosystem: trust reconciliation on every plan, 100 plus bar approvals, 250 plus integrations. CosmoLex wins on built-in depth: full trust, operating and business accounting on every plan with no QuickBooks, plus document automation in the platform. Pick Clio for price and breadth, CosmoLex for native accounting and automation. Confirm Clio's tier price on a demo.
Do I need trust accounting if I bill flat fees?
Often yes. Flat-fee estate work still involves retainers held in trust in many states, and rules require reconciled trust accounts. Clio and CosmoLex include trust accounting on every plan; MyCase adds three-way reconciliation at $39 per user per month; PracticePanther reserves it for Business Pro. Check your state bar's rules before assuming you are exempt.
Can a solo estate planner start on a free or entry plan?
Yes, but know what the entry tier leaves out. PracticePanther Solo at $49, MyCase Basic at $50 and Clio Manage from $49 publish entry prices with trials, but none of the six offers a free plan, and entry tiers exclude e-signature, intake forms or trust accounting at most vendors.
What to check before you buy
- Confirm which plan includes trust accounting and whether reconciliation costs extra.
- Check whether e-signature and intake forms are in your tier or paid add-ons.
- Ask what document automation is included versus sold separately.
- Get the full first-year cost in writing, including implementation or migration fees.
- Confirm support hours and training caps on your plan.
- Ask about contract length, renewal terms and data export before you sign.
Frequently asked questions
Which practice management software is best for a solo estate planning attorney?
Clio Manage is the best fit for most solo estate planners. Trust reconciliation sits on every plan, plans start at $49 per user per month, and unlimited storage plus training come standard (checked 2 Nov 2026). Solos who want accounting and automation in every plan should price CosmoLex.
What does practice management software cost for a solo?
Entry prices run $49 to $99 per user per month: PracticePanther Solo $49, MyCase Basic $50, Clio Manage from $49, CosmoLex Core $99 per the vendor's ROI page. Smokeball and LEAP are quote only. Watch add-ons: MyCase charges $39 for three-way reconciliation, and Clio's intake and automation are add-ons.
Does a solo estate planner need trust accounting?
Usually yes. Flat-fee estate practices often hold retainers in trust, and state bars require reconciled trust accounts. Clio Manage and CosmoLex include trust accounting on every plan. PracticePanther reserves it for Business Pro at $124 per user per month, and MyCase charges $39 per user per month for three-way reconciliation.
How long does setup take?
Vendor statements range from days to two weeks. PracticePanther says firms get started in days, not weeks; MyCase states migration in 3 to 5 business days; CosmoLex says onboarding takes one to two weeks. Clio, Smokeball and LEAP do not state a timeline. Plan two to four weeks including training.
Which tool has the best document automation for estate planning?
CosmoLex builds document automation with merge-field templates and versioning into every plan. MyCase includes Word-based generation on Pro and above. Clio handles it through Clio Draft, a separate add-on with Word integration and e-signature. Smokeball adds practice-area templates on Grow and above. Compare libraries on a trial first.
Sources
- Clio pricing (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- Clio data migration (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- PracticePanther pricing (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- MyCase pricing (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- MyCase Basic tier, support center (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- Smokeball pricing (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- CosmoLex pricing (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- CosmoLex ROI calculator, plan pricing (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- LEAP homepage FAQ (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- LEAP project roadmap (checked 2 Nov 2026)
For background on the category, see our law practice management hub. Firms comparing other practice areas can read the best practice management software for criminal defense firms or the best document automation software for estate planning firms.