Skip to content
Monday, 2 November 2026Vol. III · Legal practice software, scored against a published rubricThe Monday Brief →
Rubrilyn

Legal practice software, scored against a published rubric

Researched comparison

Best Document Automation Software for Estate Planning Firms in 2026

  • By the Rubrilyn Editorial Team
  • Published
  • Updated
  • Last verified

Disclosure. Rubrilyn may earn a fee from some links on this page, and some placements are paid and labelled. Neither one decides the order. See our disclosure.

The short answer

Gavel is the best document automation software for most estate planning firms in 2026. Its attorney-reviewed will, trust, healthcare directive and power of attorney templates pair with questionnaires and conditional logic to generate full document sets. Plans start from $83 per month with a 7-day free trial (checked 2 Nov 2026).

Key takeaways

  • Gavel is our top pick: attorney-reviewed estate planning templates, client questionnaires with conditional logic, published prices from $83 per month and a 7-day free trial.
  • Document automation turns client answers into finished wills, trusts, healthcare directives and powers of attorney; it removes retyping, not legal judgment.
  • WealthCounsel is the specialist choice: maintained will and trust drafting libraries built for estate planners, priced by quote.
  • Woodpecker ships only inside MyCase Advanced at $130 to $150 per user per month, with no stated pre-built estate planning library.
  • Clio Work, HotDocs and WealthCounsel publish no prices; Gavel, Knackly and MyCase do.
  • Price source: Gavel, checked 2 Nov 2026.

Comparison

Prices are in USD, taken from each vendor's own pages on 2 Nov 2026, except where marked as quote only.

How these compare
ToolBest forStandout featurePrice rangeFree plan/trial
GavelMost estate planning firmsAttorney-reviewed estate planning packages$83 per month (2 Nov 2026)7-day free trial
WealthCounselFirms wanting maintained contentMaintained will and trust librariesQuote only (2 Nov 2026)None stated
KnacklyFirms automating complex setsFull document sets from one intake$250 per month (2 Nov 2026)None stated
Clio DraftFirms running Clio ManageOne-click estate document setsQuote only (2 Nov 2026)None stated
WoodpeckerWord-native MyCase firmsWord-native merge-field templates$130 per user per month (2 Nov 2026)10-day free trial
HotDocsFirms with own precedentsBuild-from-precedent template platformQuote only (2 Nov 2026)None stated

How we choose

We considered 10 tools during October 2026 and selected the 6 that best serve estate planning firms drafting wills, trusts and related documents. We ranked each product with these editorial weights:

  • Estate planning template depth: will, trust, healthcare and power of attorney content (20)
  • State-specific coverage (20)
  • Client questionnaire and intake (15)
  • Automation features: conditional logic and multi-document sets (15)
  • E-signature handoff (10)
  • Pricing transparency (10)
  • Trial and buying path (10)

A document set is a group of related documents generated from one client intake, such as a will, trust and powers of attorney for the same couple. Our full method is on our scoring method. Prices were checked on 2 Nov 2026.

Our full method

ToolEstate planning templatesState coverageClient questionnaireNotes
GavelCalifornia will, revocable living trust (individual and couple), healthcare directives, power of attorney, pet trust, digital assets trust, small estate affidavitCA, CO, FL, MN, NJ, NY, VT, WI, plus federal items; total not statedYesDocuSign on Pro and above; from $83 per month
WealthCounselWealth Docx Core: Will System and Living Trust System; Complete adds charitable, asset protection, retirementStatutory references for selected states; count not statedYes; smart tool on Professional and EliteMembership model, quote only, no stated trial
Clio Draft (Clio Work)Document set library with an "Estate planning (married)" categoryCourt forms across all 50 states; estate planning coverage not statedYesAdd-on to Clio plans, quote only
KnacklyNo stated library; firms automate their own documentsNot statedYesE-signature via DocuSign or SecureSign; from $250 per month
Woodpecker (MyCase Advanced)No stated library; firms build Word templates with merge fieldsNot statedNot statedAdvanced tier only, $130 or $150 per user per month
HotDocsNo stated library; firms build templates from their own Word or PDF filesNot statedYesTemplate creation needs the Developer edition; quote only

Prices are in USD, taken from each vendor's own pages on 2 Nov 2026, except where marked as quote only.

Best for most estate planning firms.

Gavel

Best for most estate planning firms.

Gavel publishes plans and pricing (checked 2 Nov 2026) with Workflows plans from $83 per month and a 7-day free trial. Its legal template library includes attorney-reviewed California estate planning packages: revocable living trust (individual and couple), will, healthcare directives, durable power of attorney, pet trust, digital assets trust, small estate affidavit, and amendments. Intake answers feed conditional workflows that generate full document sets.

Pros:

  • Published prices from $83 per month with a 7-day free trial.
  • Attorney-reviewed estate planning packages, not a blank Word file.
  • One intake with conditional logic generates the will, trust and power of attorney.

Cons:

  • Lite tier caps at 1 builder seat, 10 workflows, 200 fields per workflow and 100 sessions per month.
  • DocuSign is Pro tier and above only; API access is Scale only.
  • Extra builders cost $50 per month each on Pro or Scale.
  • Price source: Gavel, checked 2 Nov 2026.

Price: From $83 per month for Gavel Workflows (checked 2 Nov 2026).

Who should skip it: firms that need maintained content for all 50 states, or e-signature without Pro pricing.

Unique detail: Gavel was acquired by Relativity, announced 12 June 2026, per the vendor's own about page.

Best for firms that want maintained estate planning content.

WealthCounsel

Best for firms that want maintained estate planning content.

WealthCounsel publishes no prices on its membership page (checked 2 Nov 2026); exact figures require a call with a Practice Development Consultant. Built for estate planning and elder law firms, Wealth Docx Core includes a Will System and a Living Trust System (individual, joint and pour-over revocable trusts, continuing and testamentary trusts, conduit trust provisions for retirement accounts), with charitable, asset protection and retirement planning in the Complete tier. Core includes an intake worksheet and guided interview questionnaire.

Pros:

  • The only option here built for estate planners, with maintained will and trust drafting libraries.
  • State-specific statutory references and preferred provisions come with the content.
  • Intake worksheets and guided interviews come with the drafting system.

Cons:

  • Quote-only pricing with no stated trial means a demo before any number appears.
  • The Essential tier includes Wealth Docx Core only, not Wealth Docx Complete.
  • The Client Intake smart tool is listed only for Professional and Elite.
  • Price source: WealthCounsel, checked 2 Nov 2026.

Price: Quote only (checked 2 Nov 2026).

Who should skip it: firms that need published prices or a self-serve trial, or firms automating their own documents.

Unique detail: the membership bundles maintained legal content with CLE education and an attorney community, so firms buy drafting substance, not just automation software.

Best for firms automating complex document sets.

Knackly

Best for firms automating complex document sets.

Knackly publishes plan pricing on its pricing page (checked 2 Nov 2026): Starter at $250 per month or $209 paid yearly, Done For You at $500 or $417, and Professional at $1,000 or $834. Every plan includes client-facing questionnaires, a guided interview experience, PDF document automation, and no setup fees. Knackly generates entire document sets from a single intake, offers two-way Clio sync, and provides a tool to convert HotDocs templates for migrating firms.

Pros:

  • Published plan prices with no long-term contracts and cancel-anytime terms.
  • Client-facing questionnaires and guided interviews on every plan.
  • Two-way Clio sync keeps client data current across systems.

Cons:

  • Starter and Done For You cap at 400 new records or clients per month, and Professional at 600.
  • The two lower plans bundle 4 users with no solo option; extra users cost $40 per month.
  • API access is listed on the Professional plan only; no free trial is stated.
  • Price source: Knackly, checked 2 Nov 2026.

Price: Starter from $250 per month (checked 2 Nov 2026).

Who should skip it: solos who need a single-seat plan, or firms that want a pre-built estate planning template library.

Unique detail: Knackly states no pre-built estate planning library and sells to firms automating their own documents, with the HotDocs conversion tool aimed at migrating legacy template sets.

Best for firms already running Clio Manage.

Clio Draft

Best for firms already running Clio Manage.

Clio Draft now appears as Clio Work on Clio's pricing page (checked 2 Nov 2026), listed as an add-on with no numeric price; the page directs firms to "Get pricing" or "Book a demo." The document automation page shows a document set library with an "Estate planning (married)" category and a "Populate all" button, combining data intake, document generation and e-signature in one place. Court forms span thousands of state, local and USCIS forms across all 50 states.

Pros:

  • Data intake, document generation and e-signature live in one product.
  • The document set library includes an estate planning category with one-click population.
  • Clio Manage integration pulls matter details into templates automatically.

Cons:

  • No published price for the Clio Work add-on; budgeting needs a quote or a demo.
  • The automation pages offer "Request a demo" rather than self-serve signup.
  • No trial is stated specifically for Clio Work.
  • Price source: Clio, checked 2 Nov 2026.

Price: Quote only as an add-on (checked 2 Nov 2026).

Who should skip it: firms not running Clio, since the auto-population advantage disappears without it.

Unique detail: the estate planning document set populates all at once from intake answers, so one questionnaire fills the whole set.

Best for Word-native automation inside a full practice suite.

Woodpecker

Best for Word-native automation inside a full practice suite.

Woodpecker's standalone product is gone; its automation now ships as Advanced Document Automation, exclusive to the MyCase Advanced tier at $130 per user per month billed annually or $150 billed monthly (checked 2 Nov 2026). Firms build templates in Microsoft Word (.docx) with merge fields from case and contact data, conditional logic, multi-contact support, multi-document drafting, custom fields and bulk generation. The price buys the whole MyCase practice management suite, not document automation alone.

Pros:

  • Word-native template building fits firms that draft in Word and refuse to change editors.
  • Conditional logic and multi-document generation suit estate planning packages.
  • Published prices and a 10-day free trial with no credit card required.

Cons:

  • Advanced Document Automation is Advanced tier only; Pro gets basic automation and Basic gets none.
  • All users in a firm must be on the same tier; one user cannot buy Advanced alone.
  • No pre-built estate planning library and no intake feature are stated on the automation pages.
  • Price source: MyCase, checked 2 Nov 2026.

Price: $130 per user per month billed annually, $150 billed monthly (checked 2 Nov 2026).

Who should skip it: firms that want document automation without adopting MyCase for everyone, or firms that need ready-made will and trust templates.

Unique detail: downgrading from Advanced keeps templates saved but locks the automation until you upgrade again.

Best for firms automating their own existing precedents.

HotDocs

Best for firms automating their own existing precedents.

HotDocs publishes no pricing; no pricing page exists on hotdocs.com, and the product is sold through quotes and demos (checked 2 Nov 2026). It is a build-your-own template platform: the vendor's docs state a template can generate transactional documents and forms, "such as contracts, wills, trusts, insurance forms, etc.," once the firm builds the templates. HotDocs generates interviews, "a series of dialogs, each containing one or more questions," to collect the information needed to assemble each document.

Pros:

  • Conditional logic, variables and reusable answer files handle complex provisions.
  • Interviews collect client answers inside the firm's own document flow.
  • Works from the firm's existing Word or PDF precedents.

Cons:

  • Only HotDocs Developer can create a template, per the vendor's docs, so firms need the Developer edition and template-building skill first.
  • There is no pre-built estate planning library, so the upfront template workload is real.
  • No pricing page and no stated trial keep the buying process behind sales.
  • Price source: HotDocs, checked 2 Nov 2026.

Price: Quote only (no pricing page found on hotdocs.com; checked 2 Nov 2026).

Who should skip it: firms that want ready-made will and trust documents or a self-serve buying path.

Unique detail: the vendor's docs restrict template creation to the Developer edition, so the purchase must include the authoring tier.

Which tool has the most estate planning templates?

Gavel states the most explicit library: California will and revocable living trust packages plus templates for seven other states. WealthCounsel has the deeper maintained Will and Living Trust systems but publishes no count. Knackly, Woodpecker and HotDocs state no pre-built estate planning library.

Is quote-only pricing a red flag?

Not by itself: quote-only pricing is normal for enterprise or membership products like WealthCounsel, HotDocs and Clio Work. It becomes a problem when a firm must defend a budget before a demo. If you need a number first, shortlist Gavel (from $83 per month), Knackly (from $250 per month) or MyCase Advanced ($130 per user per month).

Can clients fill out questionnaires that feed the documents?

Yes. Gavel, Knackly and WealthCounsel offer client-facing questionnaires that feed conditional document sets; Clio Work combines data intake with document generation and e-signature. HotDocs generates interview dialogs from template questions. Woodpecker states no intake feature.

What happens to my templates if I cancel or downgrade?

It depends on the vendor. MyCase states that downgrading from Advanced loses automation access while templates stay saved; upgrading restores it. Knackly states cancel-anytime terms and offers a HotDocs conversion tool. With WealthCounsel and HotDocs, get export and termination terms in writing.

Do any of these tools include e-signature?

Clio Work includes e-signature with data intake and document generation. Gavel hands off signatures through DocuSign on Pro and above. Knackly integrates with DocuSign and SecureSign. WealthCounsel, Woodpecker and HotDocs state no e-signature.

What to check before you buy

  • Confirm which states your documents must cover and whether the vendor maintains the templates or you build them.
  • Ask how questionnaires hand off to document generation, and where e-signature happens.
  • Get user minimums, record caps and per-builder fees in writing.
  • Confirm contract length, renewal terms and data export before you sign.

Frequently asked questions

Which document automation software is best for an estate planning firm?

Gavel is the best fit for most estate planning firms. Workflows plans start from $83 per month with a 7-day free trial, and the library includes attorney-reviewed will, trust, healthcare directive and power of attorney packages plus questionnaires that feed conditional document sets (checked 2 Nov 2026).

What does document automation software cost for an estate planning firm?

Published prices run from $83 per month for Gavel Workflows to $250 per month for Knackly Starter and $130 per user per month for MyCase Advanced on annual billing. WealthCounsel, HotDocs and Clio Work are quote only, so get the full first-year cost in writing before signing.

Do these tools include state-specific will and trust documents?

Coverage varies. WealthCounsel bakes in preferred provisions and statutory references for selected states, though it states no state count. Gavel lists packages for eight states plus federal items. Clio publishes court forms across all 50 states. HotDocs, Woodpecker and Knackly state no coverage, so confirm your state.

Can clients fill out questionnaires that feed the documents?

Yes, on most tools. Gavel, Knackly and WealthCounsel offer client-facing questionnaires that feed conditional document sets, and Clio Work combines data intake with document generation and e-signature in one place. HotDocs builds interview dialogs from template questions. Woodpecker states no intake feature.

What should an estate planning firm check before buying document automation?

Confirm which states your documents must cover and whether the vendor maintains the templates or you build them. Check questionnaire and e-signature handoffs, user minimums and caps, and whether quotes lock in first-year pricing. Ask about template exports on downgrade and get renewal terms in writing.

Sources

For background on the category, see our legal intake automation hub. Firms comparing practice tools can read the best practice management software for solo estate planning attorneys, and firms that want client-facing tools can read the best client portal software for small law firms.