Researched comparison
Best Client Portal Software for Small Law Firms in 2026
- By the Rubrilyn Editorial Team
- Published
- Updated
- Last verified
Disclosure. Rubrilyn may earn a fee from some links on this page, and some placements are paid and labelled. Neither one decides the order. See our disclosure.
PracticePanther is the best client portal software for most small law firms in 2026. Its Secure Client Portal is included on every tier from $49 per user per month billed annually, with messaging, file sharing and online payments. MyCase and Clio match the features; PracticePanther wins on price transparency.
Key takeaways
- PracticePanther is our top pick: the Secure Client Portal is included on every tier from $49 per user per month billed annually, with two-way messaging, file sharing, online payments and two-factor authentication.
- A client portal moves messages, documents and payments out of email.
- Only PracticePanther, MyCase and Clio publish prices; Smokeball, CosmoLex, Filevine and Hona quote after a demo.
- MyCase Basic at $50 excludes portal messaging; Clio's portal needs the Core tier, not Starter.
- Filevine states the fullest security set, but its portal needs per-project-type enablement.
- Price source: PracticePanther, checked 2 Nov 2026.
Comparison
Prices are in USD, taken from each vendor's own pages on 2 Nov 2026, except where marked as quote only.
| Tool | Best for | Standout feature | Price range | Free plan/trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PracticePanther | Most small law firms | Portal included on every tier | $49 per user per month (2 Nov 2026) | None stated |
| MyCase | Bundled portal and practice suite | One-click portal client setup | $50 per month (2 Nov 2026) | 10-day free trial |
| Clio Manage | Clio firms | E-signature inside the portal | $49 per month, portal on Core (2 Nov 2026) | 7-day free trial |
| Smokeball | Matter-connected client thread | One thread for messages and documents | Quote only (2 Nov 2026) | None stated |
| CosmoLex | Accounting and portal in one | Built-in accounting with portal | Quote only (2 Nov 2026) | Free trial |
| Filevine | Deep portal in case management | Fullest stated security controls | Quote only (2 Nov 2026) | None stated |
| Hona | Branded client experience layer | Visual case tracker for clients | Quote only (2 Nov 2026) | None stated |
How we choose
We considered 10 portal products during October 2026 and selected the 7 that best serve small law firms. We ranked each product with these editorial weights:
- Client messaging and document sharing (20)
- Security and access controls (20)
- Invoice payment (15)
- Pricing transparency (15)
- Mobile access (10)
- Onboarding effort (10)
- Trial and support (10)
A client portal is a signed-in space where clients message the firm, exchange documents and pay invoices. Our full method is on our scoring method. Prices were checked on 2 Nov 2026.
| Control | Which tools state it | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Multi-factor authentication | MyCase, Clio, PracticePanther, Smokeball, CosmoLex, Filevine | Hona does not state it |
| Granular staff permissions | MyCase, Clio, PracticePanther, CosmoLex, Filevine | Clio excludes them on Starter; PracticePanther reserves them for Essential plus |
| Client-side access controls | Clio, Smokeball, Filevine | Clio limits clients to their own matter; Filevine shares designated folders; Smokeball lets only the firm start conversations |
| Audit logs | PracticePanther, Filevine | PracticePanther logs alterations with time and user; Filevine states full audit trails |
| Encryption in transit and at rest | All seven | Hona states end-to-end encryption; the rest state SSL or TLS and AES |
| E-signature inside the portal | Clio, CosmoLex, Filevine, Hona | CosmoLex uses the LexShare and LexSign add-ons |
| Data export | MyCase, Clio, PracticePanther | Smokeball, CosmoLex, Filevine and Hona do not state it |
Prices are in USD, taken from each vendor's own pages on 2 Nov 2026, except where marked as quote only.
Best for most small law firms.
PracticePanther publishes four plans on its pricing page (checked 2 Nov 2026): Solo at $59 per user per month or $49 billed annually, Essential at $79 or $69, Business at $99 or $89, and Business Pro at $124 or $114. The Secure Client Portal is "Always Included" on every tier.
Pros:
- The portal is included on every tier, including Solo at $49 per user per month.
- Online payments with automatic reminders and payment plans.
- Two-factor authentication, role-based permissions and audit logs with time and date stamps.
Cons:
- Native eSignature is included only on Business and Business Pro.
- Custom security roles are only on Essential and above.
- Support is Basic on Solo and Essential, VIP on Business and Business Pro.
- Price source: PracticePanther, checked 2 Nov 2026.
Price: Solo from $49 per user per month billed annually (checked 2 Nov 2026).
Who should skip it: firms that need e-signature inside the portal on the cheapest tier, or VIP support without Business pricing.
Unique detail: the pricing page marks the Secure Client Portal as "Always Included" on every tier.
Best for firms that want the portal bundled with full practice management.
MyCase publishes three plans on its pricing page (checked 2 Nov 2026): Basic at $50 per user per month billed annually or $60 monthly, Pro at $100 or $120, and Advanced at $130 or $150, with a 10-day free trial and no credit card required. The portal offers secure messages, two-way document sharing, online invoice payment and shared case details, with one-click setup for new clients.
Pros:
- Published prices on every tier with a 10-day no-cost trial and no setup fee.
- One-click portal setup for new clients.
- Multi-factor authentication, user access control and data export are stated.
Cons:
- The Basic tier portal covers only events, tasks and invoices; messaging is excluded.
- eSignature, workflows, intake, custom fields and integrations are also excluded from Basic.
- All users in a firm must be on the same tier.
- Price source: MyCase, checked 2 Nov 2026.
Price: Basic from $50 per user per month billed annually (checked 2 Nov 2026).
Who should skip it: firms that need portal messaging on the cheapest tier.
Unique detail: the vendor's support center marks Basic's portal as events, tasks and invoices only, so the $50 price buys a thinner portal than the name suggests.
Best for firms already running Clio.
Clio's pricing page (checked 2 Nov 2026) states plans start at $49 per user per month across four plans (Starter, Core, Signature and Elite), with a 7-day free trial and no credit card. Clio for Clients is the portal: secure messaging saved to the matter, two-way document sharing with mobile uploads, invoices viewable and payable online, status updates, tasks, shared calendar events, electronic signatures and payment through a secure link.
Pros:
- E-signature inside the portal: clients sign, upload and pay in one place.
- Multi-factor authentication and encryption on every plan.
- Client-side access is stated: clients only see their own matter.
Cons:
- The secure client portal is a Core-plan feature, so Starter does not include it.
- Individual plan prices are not displayed; firms must use "Get pricing" or "Book a demo."
- Starter also excludes custom fields and custom roles with granular permissions.
- Price source: Clio (checked 2 Nov 2026).
Price: Plans from $49 per user per month; portal on Core and above (checked 2 Nov 2026).
Who should skip it: firms that want the portal on the cheapest tier.
Unique detail: per the vendor's collaboration page, clients can book consultations, sign documents and pay invoices without leaving the portal.
Best for firms that want a matter-connected client thread.
Smokeball publishes no prices on its pricing page (checked 2 Nov 2026); its four plans (Bill, Boost, Grow, Prosper+) each carry a "Get pricing" button. The client portal keeps messages, texts and documents on one matter-connected thread and lets clients view and pay invoices from the invoice.
Pros:
- Messages, texts and documents stay on one matter-connected thread.
- Clients view and pay invoices from the invoice.
- Multi-factor authentication and encryption in transit and at rest are stated.
Cons:
- No public prices; a personalized quote is required, with pricing varying by users, plan, term and optional products.
- The client portal is a key feature of Boost and above, not of Bill.
- Intake is an add-on on Boost and Grow, and eFiling carries fees.
- Price source: Smokeball (checked 2 Nov 2026).
Price: Quote only (checked 2 Nov 2026).
Who should skip it: firms that need published prices or the portal on the entry tier.
Unique detail: only the firm can start a portal conversation, per the vendor's portal page.
Best for firms that want accounting and the portal in one login.
CosmoLex publishes no plan prices on its pricing page (checked 2 Nov 2026); plans are "Customize your plan" with a "Schedule a demo" call to action. The client portal offers messaging, two-way document sharing, a secure payment portal, and eSignature through the LexShare and LexSign add-ons.
Pros:
- Built-in accounting and the client portal come in one login.
- Two-factor authentication and user-level roles are stated.
- 256-bit SSL in transit and AES-256 at rest are stated.
Cons:
- No published prices; plan customization starts with a demo.
- The trial excludes the LexShare and LexSign add-ons for secure document sharing and e-signatures.
- The trial is limited to a single bank feed connection.
- Price source: CosmoLex (checked 2 Nov 2026).
Price: Quote only (checked 2 Nov 2026).
Who should skip it: firms that need published prices.
Unique detail: the vendor's pricing FAQ admits the trial excludes LexShare and LexSign, so the portal capability you most want to test is the one you cannot try.
Best for firms that want portal depth inside full case management.
Filevine publishes no prices on its pricing page (checked 2 Nov 2026); plans are tailored per organization. The client portal offers secure in-portal messaging, document exchange, invoice viewing with "Pay Invoice" through Payments by Filevine, and Vinesign signature requests inside the portal. Security is the fullest stated set here: multi-factor authentication, granular permissions, client-side access limits, audit trails and encryption.
Pros:
- The fullest stated security set here, including audit trails and client-side access limits.
- Vinesign signature requests happen inside the portal.
- Invoice payment and payment history live in the portal.
Cons:
- Quote-only pricing with no platform free trial; the only stated trial is for the LOIS Explore AI product.
- The portal is a separate product an admin must add and enable per project type.
- A published timeline is a prerequisite for portal enablement.
- Price source: Filevine (checked 2 Nov 2026).
Price: Quote only (checked 2 Nov 2026).
Who should skip it: firms that need published prices or a trial of the portal itself.
Unique detail: per the vendor's help center, the portal cannot be enabled until its timeline is published.
Best for firms that want a branded client experience layer.
Hona publishes no prices; the Pricing link in its own navigation resolves to the demo page (checked 2 Nov 2026). Hona is a client experience layer on a firm's existing case management system: a branded portal with a visual case timeline, two-way messaging, document exchange, custom forms and built-in e-signature.
Pros:
- A branded portal with a visual case tracker clients can follow.
- Built-in e-signature tool for signature requests through the portal.
Cons:
- No published pricing and no stated trial; entry is booking a demo.
- It requires an existing case management system, so confirm compatibility with a rep.
- Invoice payment is not stated on the vendor pages.
- Price source: Hona (checked 2 Nov 2026).
Price: Quote only (checked 2 Nov 2026).
Who should skip it: firms without a supported case management setup.
Unique detail: the portal works through existing integrations and a Chrome extension, so the current system does the heavy lifting.
Which client portal is cheapest for a small firm?
PracticePanther is cheapest: Solo at $49 per user per month billed annually, with the portal on every tier. MyCase Basic starts at $50 billed annually but excludes messaging. Clio starts at $49 billed monthly, but the portal needs Core. Smokeball, CosmoLex, Filevine and Hona are quote only.
Is a client portal worth it for a solo attorney?
Often yes. A portal moves messages, documents and payments out of email, cutting status-update calls. PracticePanther Solo includes the portal at $49 per user per month billed annually; MyCase Basic at $50 excludes messaging.
Which portal has the strongest access controls?
Filevine states the fullest set: multi-factor authentication, project-level permissions, client-side access limits, audit trails and encryption. PracticePanther and Clio state multi-factor authentication, role-based permissions and encryption. Hona states the least: encryption and an annual SOC 2 audit.
Can clients pay invoices through the portal?
Yes on most portals here. PracticePanther, MyCase, Clio, Smokeball and CosmoLex let clients view and pay invoices in the portal; Filevine offers payment through Payments by Filevine. Processing fees still apply, and some vendors need a payments add-on. Hona does not state invoice payment.
What does portal onboarding actually involve?
MyCase states one-click portal setup for new clients, with guided implementation and live training. PracticePanther assigns a dedicated account manager and helps migrate data. Clio includes unlimited training, support and migration. Filevine is the exception: an admin must enable the portal per project type after publishing a timeline.
What to check before you buy
- Confirm which tier includes the portal and messaging, not just document sharing.
- Ask who counts as a paid user and whether clients ever need seats.
- Get payment processing fees and any payments add-on in writing.
- Check e-signature availability inside the portal and its tier.
- Confirm contract length, renewal terms and data export before you sign.
Frequently asked questions
Which client portal software is best for a small law firm?
PracticePanther is the best fit for most small law firms. Its Secure Client Portal is included on every plan from $49 per user per month billed annually, with messaging, file sharing, online payments, two-factor authentication and audit logs (checked 2 Nov 2026).
What does client portal software cost for a small law firm?
Published plans start at $49 per user per month on PracticePanther Solo billed annually, $50 on MyCase Basic, and $49 on Clio Manage billed monthly, though Clio's portal needs the Core tier. Smokeball, CosmoLex, Filevine and Hona are quote only.
Which portal has the strongest access controls?
Filevine states the fullest set: multi-factor authentication, granular project-level permissions, client-side access limits, audit trails and encryption in transit and at rest. PracticePanther states two-factor authentication, role-based permissions and audit logs. Hona states the least: encryption and a SOC 2 audit.
Can clients pay invoices through the portal?
Yes on most portals here. PracticePanther, MyCase, Clio, Smokeball and CosmoLex all let clients view and pay invoices in the portal, and Filevine offers payment through Payments by Filevine. Processing fees still apply, and some vendors need a payment add-on. Hona does not state invoice payment.
Do clients need to install anything to use the portal?
Usually not. MyCase, Smokeball and CosmoLex describe browser-based portals that work on any device, with clients invited by email or a sign-up link. Clio offers Face ID and Touch ID sign-in on mobile; Filevine prompts clients to save the portal to their home screen.
Sources
- PracticePanther pricing (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- PracticePanther client portal (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- PracticePanther security (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- MyCase pricing (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- MyCase client communications (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- MyCase Basic tier (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- Clio pricing (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- Clio client portal (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- Clio collaboration (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- Smokeball pricing (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- Smokeball client portal (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- CosmoLex pricing (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- CosmoLex client portal (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- CosmoLex security (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- Filevine pricing (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- Filevine client portal (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- Filevine secure document sharing (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- Filevine portal help center (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- Filevine portal manager (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- Hona demo (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- Hona solutions (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- Hona AI agents and security (checked 2 Nov 2026)
- Hona Smokeball integration (checked 2 Nov 2026)
For background on the category, see our legal intake automation hub. Firms comparing document tools can read the best document automation software for estate planning firms, and firms comparing front-door tools can read the best legal intake software for immigration law firms.