Skip to content
Monday, 2 November 2026Vol. III · Legal practice software, scored against a published rubricThe Monday Brief →
Rubrilyn

Legal practice software, scored against a published rubric

Researched comparison

Best Practice Management Software for Criminal Defense Firms in 2026

  • By the Rubrilyn Editorial Team
  • Published
  • Updated
  • Last verified

Disclosure. Rubrilyn may earn a fee from some links on this page, and some placements are paid and labelled. Neither one decides the order. See our disclosure.

The short answer

Clio Manage is the best practice management software for most criminal defense firms in 2026. It starts at $49 per user per month (checked 2 Nov 2026), with trust and operating accounting on every plan, a secure client portal, online payments and unlimited document storage. Firms that bill flat fees should also compare PracticePanther Business at $99 per user per month (checked 2 Nov 2026) for two-way texting and eSignature.

Key takeaways

  • Clio Manage is our top pick: trust and operating accounting on every plan from $49 per user per month, a secure portal, online payments and unlimited storage.
  • Criminal defense billing is retainer and flat-fee heavy, so trust accounting and payment-plan support matter more than hourly time tracking depth.
  • PracticePanther Business at $99 per user per month adds native two-way texting, intake forms and unlimited eSignature sends for client-facing firms.
  • MyCase starts at $50 per user per month with a 10-day free trial, but trust accounting costs $39 more per user as an add-on.
  • Smokeball and CosmoLex are quote only; CaseFox offers a free plan with no credit card.
  • Price source: Clio, checked 2 Nov 2026.

Comparison

Prices are in USD, taken from each vendor's own pages on 2 Nov 2026, except where marked as quote only.

How these compare
ToolBest forStandout featurePrice rangeFree plan/trial
Clio ManageMost defense firmsTrust accounting included$49 per user per month (2 Nov 2026)7-day free trial
MyCaseLow entry price seekersLong trial, simple start$50 per user per month (2 Nov 2026)10-day free trial
PracticePantherClient communication, flat-fee billingTexting and eSignature$59 per user per month (2 Nov 2026)7-day free trial
SmokeballDocument automation depthAutoTime and practice-area templatesQuote only (2 Nov 2026)None stated
CosmoLexBuilt-in accounting fansLegal accounting in every planQuote only (2 Nov 2026)Trial; single bank-feed limit
CaseFoxSolos on a budgetFree-forever plan with conflict checksFree plan (2 Nov 2026)Free plan, no credit card

How we choose

We considered 12 platforms during October 2026 and selected the 6 that best serve criminal defense firms billing retainers and flat fees. We ranked each product with these editorial weights:

  • Trust accounting and billing depth (20)
  • Pricing transparency (15)
  • Client communication through portal, texting and e-sign (15)
  • Document automation (15)
  • Flat-fee and payment-plan support (15)
  • Conflict checking and intake (10)
  • Calendaring and deadline tracking (10)

Our full method is on our scoring method. Prices were checked on 2 Nov 2026.

Our full method

This table shows which tools state each feature on the vendor pages we checked. "Not stated" means the feature did not appear on the pages we read.

FeatureWhich tools include itNotes
Conflict checkingCaseFoxCaseFox lists "Smart Client Intake & Conflict Checks" on its homepage. Not stated on the other vendors' pages checked.
Trust accountingClio, MyCase, PracticePanther, CosmoLex, CaseFox, SmokeballClio includes trust and operating reconciliation on every plan. MyCase charges $39 per user per month as an add-on on Pro and Advanced. PracticePanther reserves full trust accounting for Business Pro.
Client portalClio, PracticePanther, CosmoLex, CaseFox, SmokeballClio's secure portal arrives on Core and above. PracticePanther and CosmoLex include it on all plans. CaseFox pairs its portal with PayPal and LawPay payments. Smokeball adds the portal on Boost.
Two-way textingPracticePantherPracticePanther lists native 2-way business texting on Business and above. CosmoLex offers text drip campaigns only through its paid CRM add-on.
Document automationClio, PracticePanther, CaseFox, SmokeballClio offers AI drafting and bill drafting on Core and above. PracticePanther includes document templates. CaseFox offers AI-powered drafting and templates. Smokeball reserves advanced document automation for Grow.
Flat-fee and payment-plan billingPracticePanther, CosmoLex, CaseFoxPracticePanther lists recurring payment plans. CosmoLex offers flexible billing with retainers and recurring payments. CaseFox supports flat-fee, hourly, contingency and retainer billing with monthly recurring billing.
E-signaturePracticePanther, CosmoLex, SmokeballPracticePanther includes native eSignature with unlimited sends on Business. CosmoLex sells e-signature through its LexSign add-on. Smokeball lists eSignature on Boost and above. Not stated on the other vendors' pages checked.

Best for most criminal defense firms.

Clio Manage

Best for most criminal defense firms.

Clio Manage starts at $49 per user per month (checked 2 Nov 2026), with four plans: Starter, Core, Signature and Elite. Every plan includes contact, matter and document management, time and expense tracking, online payments, and trust and operating account reconciliation. Core adds AI bill drafting, a secure client portal and custom fields. Signature adds matter-stage kanban boards. Elite bundles Clio Grow. Every plan includes unlimited document storage, a 7-day free trial with no credit card, and 24/5 live support.

Pros:

  • Trust and operating accounting is included on every plan, so retainer compliance does not require an add-on.
  • Data can be exported in open formats at any time, including within 90 days of cancellation.

Cons:

  • AI features start on Core, so Starter buyers get none of the drafting and automation.
  • Clio Grow is included only on Elite, and Grow AI lead scoring is billed per hired matter on top.

Price: Plans start at $49 per user per month (checked 2 Nov 2026).

Who should skip it: firms that want published prices for every tier before talking to sales, or firms that need native two-way texting, which is not stated on the pricing page.

Unique detail: the pricing page states that AI is included on Core and above as part of the plan, and that firm data is never used for AI training.

Best for firms that want a low entry price and a longer trial.

MyCase

Best for firms that want a low entry price and a longer trial.

MyCase publishes three plans on its pricing page (checked 2 Nov 2026): Basic at $50 per user per month billed annually ($60 monthly), Pro at $100 ($120 monthly) and Advanced at $130 ($150 monthly). The page offers a 10-day free trial with no credit card required, guided implementation, and no long-term contract or setup fee. Trust accounting arrives through a $39 per user per month accounting add-on on Pro and Advanced, with three-way trust reconciliations.

Pros:

  • Basic at $50 per user per month billed annually is the lowest published entry price here.
  • The 10-day free trial is the longest stated trial of the six, with no credit card required.

Cons:

  • Trust accounting is a $39 per user per month add-on on Pro and Advanced, not included in any base plan.
  • The accounting add-on is unavailable on Basic, so entry-tier buyers cannot add trust accounting at all.

Price: Basic from $50 per user per month, billed annually (checked 2 Nov 2026).

Who should skip it: firms that need trust accounting on the entry tier, or firms that want e-signature and texting depth stated up front.

Unique detail: the pricing page states outright that there is no long-term contract and no setup fee, and that previously paid fees are non-refundable.

Best for client communication and flat-fee billing.

PracticePanther

Best for client communication and flat-fee billing.

PracticePanther publishes four plans on its pricing page (checked 2 Nov 2026): Solo at $59 per user per month monthly ($49 annual), Essential at $79 ($69 annual), Business at $99 ($89 annual) and Business Pro at $124 ($114 annual). Business adds native 2-way business texting, intake forms, native eSignature with unlimited sends, recurring payment plans and LEDES billing. Business Pro adds PantherAccounting Plus with trust accounting and GL, AR and expense management. Every plan includes a secure client portal, unlimited data storage and a 7-day free trial with no credit card needed.

Pros:

  • Native two-way texting and unlimited eSignature sends arrive on Business, covering the two channels defense clients use most.
  • Recurring payment plans are listed on the pricing page, which fits flat-fee installments.

Cons:

  • Two-way texting and eSignature require the $99 Business plan; Solo and Essential buyers get neither.
  • Full trust accounting needs Business Pro at $124 per user per month, the highest published tier here.

Price: Solo from $59 per user per month (checked 2 Nov 2026).

Who should skip it: firms that need trust accounting under $100 per user per month, since it requires Business Pro.

Unique detail: the plan comparison table lists recurring payment plans and invoice read alerts as native features.

Best for document automation depth.

Smokeball

Best for document automation depth.

Smokeball publishes no prices on its US pricing page (checked 2 Nov 2026); four plans, Bill, Boost, Grow and Prosper+, each carry a "Get pricing" button, and the FAQ states that pricing depends on users, plan, contract term and add-ons, with a personalized quote per firm. Bill covers invoicing, time and expense tracking, online payments, and trust accounting and reporting. Boost adds client and matter management, a client portal, eSignature, eFiling and Microsoft 365 integration. Grow adds practice area templates and advanced document automation, and is designed for firms with three or more staff. Prosper+ adds intake, custom workflows and includes AutoTime.

Pros:

  • Trust accounting and reporting arrive on the entry Bill plan, the cheapest tier in the lineup.
  • E-signatures are listed as unlimited with InfoTrack in the plan comparison table.

Cons:

  • No published prices on the US site: every figure follows a personalized quote.
  • Grow is designed for firms with three or more staff, so small teams are steered elsewhere.
  • AutoTime is included only on Prosper+; Grow buyers pay for it as an add-on.

Price: Quote only (checked 2 Nov 2026).

Who should skip it: firms that need a published price before a sales conversation, or solos who would land on a plan designed for larger teams.

Unique detail: the FAQ states that migration costs depend on the source platform and data complexity, and are confirmed only in the quote.

Best for built-in accounting without add-ons.

CosmoLex

Best for built-in accounting without add-ons.

CosmoLex shows no single per-user price on its pricing page (checked 2 Nov 2026); the page offers a customized plan built around the firm with a mix of features and add-ons, so pricing is quote based. Every plan includes practice management with a built-in client portal, built-in payments, legal accounting with trust accounting, integrations with Microsoft 365, QuickBooks Online, Dropbox and Zapier, and SOC 2 Type 2 controls. Paid add-ons include a CRM with logic-based intake forms, email and text drip campaigns and e-signature, LexShare and LexSign for secure sharing and signing, and firm websites. Billing includes flexible billing with retainers and recurring payments.

Pros:

  • Legal accounting with trust accounting is built into every plan, not sold as an add-on.
  • Flexible billing with retainers and recurring payments fits criminal defense fee structures directly.

Cons:

  • No per-user price is published, so every number requires a demo or sales call.
  • Intake forms, text campaigns and e-signature live in paid add-ons, not the base plan.

Price: Custom pricing; no per-user figure published (checked 2 Nov 2026).

Who should skip it: firms that need a firm per-user price in writing before engaging sales.

Unique detail: the pricing page states that the trial includes the same functionality as a paid subscription, with only a single bank feed connection as the limit.

Best free starting point for solos.

CaseFox states on its homepage (checked 2 Nov 2026) that its free plan is free forever, with no credit card required and cancellation at any time; paid tier prices are not published on the vendor site. The platform covers smart client intake with conflict checks, time tracking, billing and invoicing with LEDES support, a monthly recurring billing process, flat-fee and retainer billing, IOLTA-compliant trust accounting, a secure client portal with PayPal and LawPay payments, and AI-powered document drafting. The vendor states free data migration, free onboarding, and 24/7 support.

Pros:

  • A free-forever plan with no credit card is the cheapest possible starting point for a solo.
  • Conflict checks at intake plus IOLTA-compliant trust accounting cover the two compliance basics.

Cons:

  • Paid tier prices are not published on the vendor site, so upgrade costs are unknown before a sales conversation.
  • The homepage does not state which features the free plan excludes, so confirm limits before relying on it.

Price: Free plan; paid tiers not published (checked 2 Nov 2026).

Who should skip it: firms that need stated e-signature or texting, or firms that want published upgrade prices before committing.

Unique detail: the vendor states that data migration, onboarding and 24/7 support come at no additional cost for all users.

Which practice management software is cheapest for a criminal defense firm?

CaseFox is cheapest to start: its free plan is free forever with no credit card required, though paid tier prices are not published. Among published per-user prices, Clio starts at $49 per user per month, MyCase Basic at $50 and PracticePanther Solo at $59 monthly ($49 annual). Clio includes trust accounting on every plan, while MyCase charges $39 more per user for it and PracticePanther reserves texting and eSignature for its $99 Business plan. Price source: Clio, checked 2 Nov 2026.

Is Clio or MyCase better for criminal defense?

Clio is the stronger pick for most defense firms: trust and operating accounting on every plan, a secure client portal, more payment methods and unlimited storage, from $49 per user per month. MyCase wins on trial length and entry simplicity: a 10-day free trial and guided implementation with Basic at $50. Choose MyCase for the gentlest start; choose Clio if trust accounting and the portal matter from day one.

Do I need trust accounting if I only bill flat fees?

Yes, in most states. Flat fees paid in advance are usually unearned until the work is done, so the money must sit in a client trust account with proper reconciliation. Clio includes trust and operating reconciliation on every plan. MyCase sells it as a $39 per user per month add-on on Pro and Advanced. PracticePanther reserves full trust accounting for Business Pro. Confirm your state's rules with counsel before choosing.

Can these tools run payment plans for my clients?

PracticePanther lists recurring payment plans on its pricing page, the clearest fit for flat-fee installments. CosmoLex offers flexible billing with retainers and recurring payments. CaseFox supports a monthly recurring billing process across flat-fee, contingency and retainer structures. Clio and MyCase collect online payments but do not state installment plans on the pricing pages we checked.

What to check before you buy

  • Confirm how trust accounting handles advance flat fees and whether three-way reconciliation is included.
  • Ask whether payment plans and installment billing are native or need an add-on.
  • Get the full first-year cost in writing, including accounting add-ons, texting, e-signature and AI extras.
  • Check who counts as a paid user and whether clients using the portal need seats.
  • Test the client portal and e-signature with a real retainer agreement.
  • Ask about conflict checking depth at intake, since defense work carries real conflict risk.
  • Confirm contract length, renewal terms, cancellation rights and data export options before you sign.

Frequently asked questions

Which practice management software is best for a criminal defense firm?

Clio Manage is the best fit for most criminal defense firms. Plans start at $49 per user per month, with trust and operating accounting on every plan, a secure client portal, online payments and unlimited document storage. Firms that text clients heavily should compare PracticePanther Business.

How much does practice management software cost for a criminal defense firm?

Published prices run from $49 per user per month for Clio, $50 for MyCase Basic and $59 for PracticePanther Solo. CaseFox offers a free plan. Smokeball and CosmoLex are quote only. Watch for add-ons: MyCase trust accounting costs $39 per user per month.

Why is trust accounting important for criminal defense firms?

Criminal defense work runs on retainers and advance fees, and in most states unearned fees must sit in a client trust account until earned. Clio includes trust reconciliation on every plan. MyCase sells it as a $39 per user add-on. PracticePanther reserves it for Business Pro.

Can practice management software handle flat fees and payment plans?

Yes. PracticePanther lists recurring payment plans on its pricing page, which fits flat-fee installments. CosmoLex offers flexible billing with retainers and recurring payments. CaseFox supports flat-fee and retainer billing with monthly recurring billing. Confirm installment billing is included in your tier before you buy.

What should a solo criminal defense attorney avoid when buying software?

Avoid plans built for larger teams: Smokeball Grow is designed for firms with three or more staff, and AutoTime is only included on Prosper+. Skip breadth you will not use if your practice is flat-fee only. CaseFox's free plan is the cheapest starting point.

Sources

For background on the category, see our law practice management hub. Firms comparing practice tools can read our reviews of the best case management software for workers compensation law firms and the best practice management software for solo estate planning attorneys.