Skip to content
Monday, 2 November 2026Vol. III · Legal practice software, scored against a published rubricThe Monday Brief →
Rubrilyn

Legal practice software, scored against a published rubric

Researched comparison

Best E-Signature Software for Small Law Firms in 2026

  • By the Rubrilyn Editorial Team
  • Published
  • Updated
  • Last verified

Disclosure. Rubrilyn may earn a fee from some links on this page, and some placements are paid and labelled. Neither one decides the order. See our disclosure.

The short answer

Signeasy is the best e-signature software for most small law firms in 2026. Its Business plan costs $20 per seat per month billed yearly and includes unlimited document sends with a tamper-proof audit trail, so a firm never watches an envelope meter. Signer two-factor authentication arrives on Business Pro at $30 per seat per month. Firms whose clients demand the DocuSign brand should shortlist DocuSign Personal at $11 per month.

Key takeaways

  • Signeasy is our top pick: unlimited sends on the $20 Business plan, signer two-factor authentication on Business Pro, and a tamper-proof audit trail on every plan.
  • Envelope math decides the bill. DocuSign Standard caps sends at 100 envelopes per user per year with pay-as-you-go overages, while Dropbox Sign and Signeasy Business put no cap on sends.
  • Signer authentication costs extra almost everywhere: DocuSign charges from $2.40 per identity verification attempt.
  • PandaDoc has the only free plan with real volume: 60 documents a year at $0.
  • Price source: Signeasy, checked 2 Nov 2026.

Comparison

Prices are in USD, taken from each vendor's own pages on 2 Nov 2026, except where marked as quote only.

How these compare
ToolBest forStandout featurePrice rangeFree plan/trial
SigneasyMost small law firmsUnlimited sends with audit trail$20 per seat per month (2 Nov 2026)Free trial
DocuSignBrand-sensitive firmsMarket-leading brand, envelope billing$11 per month (2 Nov 2026)None stated
Dropbox SignLow flat-price unlimited sendsUnlimited signature requests$15 per month (2 Nov 2026)30-day free trial
SignNowTeams avoiding per-seat billingUnlimited users on every plan$8 per month (2 Nov 2026)7-day free trial
PandaDocFirms wanting a free startFree plan with 60 documents yearlyFree $0 (2 Nov 2026)Free plan
VinesignText-message signing fansSMS signature requests with selfie IDQuote only (2 Nov 2026)7-day free trial

How we choose

We considered 14 e-signature tools during October 2026 and selected the 6 that best serve small law firms. We ranked each product with these editorial weights:

  • Per-envelope economics and send allowances (25)
  • Signer authentication and identity verification options (15)
  • Audit trail and document integrity (15)
  • Practice management and legal integrations (15)
  • Ease of signing for clients, with no account required (10)
  • Templates and workflow features (10)
  • Pricing transparency (10)

An envelope is the unit DocuSign bills by: one envelope can hold many documents and signers but counts once when sent. Our full method is on our scoring method. Prices were checked on 2 Nov 2026.

Our full method

ToolCheapest plan with e-signEnvelopes or sends includedOverage or per-envelope costFree trial
SigneasyPersonal $10/month per seat ($120 billed yearly)5 contracts for signature per monthNot stated; fair usage restrictions applyFree trial stated on pricing page
DocuSignPersonal $11/month (annual commitment, billed monthly)5 envelopes per monthPay-as-you-go per extra envelope; rate not statedNot stated; 30-day money-back on annual plans
Dropbox SignEssentials $15/month billed yearlyUnlimited signature requestsNone; unlimited on paid plans30-day free trial
SignNowBasic $8/month billed annuallyNot statedNot stated7-day free trial
PandaDocFree $060 documents per year (5 per month)$3.50 per document (Starter Monthly), $2 (Starter Annual), $2.60 (Business Monthly)14-day free trial
VinesignQuote only30 documents per month on trial and Solo plansNot stated7-day free trial

Prices are in USD, taken from each vendor's own pages on 2 Nov 2026, except where marked as quote only or not stated.

Best for most small law firms.

Signeasy

Best for most small law firms.

Signeasy lists three plans on its pricing page (checked 2 Nov 2026): Personal at $10 per month per seat ($120 billed yearly), Business at $20 ($240 yearly) and Business Pro at $30 ($360 yearly). Personal covers 1 user and 5 contracts a month; Business and Business Pro include unlimited sends, subject to fair usage restrictions. Every plan includes a tamper-proof audit trail and mobile apps, and signers need no account.

Pros:

  • Unlimited sends on Business and Business Pro remove envelope counting for a busy practice.
  • Business Pro adds signer two-factor authentication, approval workflows, and SharePoint and HubSpot integrations.
  • A 100-day money-back guarantee on yearly plans is the longest guarantee here.

Cons:

  • Personal is limited to 1 user and 5 sends a month.
  • In-person signing is excluded from Personal, per the vendor's own feature comparison.
  • HIPAA compliance, single sign-on, bulk send and SMS delivery are paid add-ons with demo-gated pricing rather than published figures.
  • Price source: Signeasy, checked 2 Nov 2026.

Price: Personal from $10 per month per seat; Business $20 (checked 2 Nov 2026).

Who should skip it: firms that need HIPAA compliance or single sign-on at a published price, or firms whose clients require the DocuSign brand.

Unique detail: the 100-day money-back guarantee on yearly plans is the most generous refund promise here.

Best for firms whose clients expect the market leader.

DocuSign

Best for firms whose clients expect the market leader.

DocuSign lists Personal at $11 per month on an annual commitment billed monthly ($132 a year), Standard at $30 per user per month ($360 a year), and Business Pro at $45 per user per month ($540 a year) on its pricing page (checked 2 Nov 2026). Personal includes 5 envelopes a month for one user. Standard and Business Pro include up to 100 envelopes per user per year on annual plans. An envelope counts once when sent, whether or not it is signed, and recipients need no account.

Pros:

  • The brand clients and counterparties already know, which matters for documents with many signers.
  • An envelope counts once regardless of how many documents and signers it contains.
  • Business Pro supports payments collection for firms that collect fees at signing.

Cons:

  • The 100-envelope annual cap on Standard and Business Pro is easy to hit, and each excess envelope is billed pay-as-you-go at an unstated rate.
  • Identity verification starts at $2.40 per attempt and SMS delivery at $0.36, both metered add-ons.
  • No free trial is stated; only a 30-day money-back guarantee on annual plans.
  • Price source: DocuSign, checked 2 Nov 2026.

Price: Personal $11 per month; Standard $30 per user per month (checked 2 Nov 2026).

Who should skip it: firms that send more than about 8 documents a month per user, and firms that need published overage rates before buying.

Unique detail: a sent envelope counts against the allowance even if the recipient never signs it.

Best for unlimited sends at a low flat price.

Dropbox Sign

Best for unlimited sends at a low flat price.

Dropbox Sign lists Essentials at $15 per month billed yearly for one user, Standard at $25 per user per month billed yearly starting with two users, and Premium at custom pricing on its pricing page (checked 2 Nov 2026). Every paid plan includes unlimited signature requests. Essentials includes 5 templates; Standard adds 15 templates, bulk send and team administration. A free plan covers 3 requests a month, with a 30-day free trial.

Pros:

  • Unlimited signature requests on paid plans remove envelope math from budgeting.
  • Signers never pay and need no account, per the vendor's own pricing FAQ.
  • The free plan's 3 sends a month suit occasional signers.

Cons:

  • Essentials is limited to 1 user and 5 templates.
  • Standard starts at two users, and teams of five or more must contact sales, so mid-size firms cannot self-serve.
  • The API is sold separately from the web plans, per the vendor's API pricing page.
  • Price source: Dropbox Sign, checked 2 Nov 2026.

Price: Essentials $15 per month; Standard $25 per user per month (checked 2 Nov 2026).

Who should skip it: firms that need more than 5 templates on the entry plan, or firms with five or more senders.

Unique detail: only senders pay, so client signers are never billed and never need an account.

Best for teams that want unlimited users without per-seat billing.

SignNow

Best for teams that want unlimited users without per-seat billing.

SignNow lists Basic at $8 per month billed annually, Business at $15 and Advanced at $30 on its pricing page (checked 2 Nov 2026), with monthly billing at $20, $30 and $50. Every plan includes unlimited users, so the bill does not grow with headcount. Enterprise is usage-based at $1.50 per signature invite. The page offers a 7-day free trial and a 30-day money-back guarantee.

Pros:

  • Unlimited users on every plan means the whole firm can send without per-seat arithmetic.
  • The $8 Basic plan is the cheapest paid entry price here.
  • Compliance coverage is broad: GDPR, SOC 2 Type II, PCI DSS, HIPAA and CCPA.

Cons:

  • Send allowances are not stated on the pricing page, so they are unclear until you buy.
  • Advanced signer authentication requires the $30 Advanced plan, double the Business price.
  • There is no permanent free plan, only the 7-day trial.
  • Price source: SignNow, checked 2 Nov 2026.

Price: Basic $8 per month billed annually (checked 2 Nov 2026).

Who should skip it: firms that need a stated send allowance in writing, or firms that need advanced authentication at the entry price.

Unique detail: unlimited users on every plan is unique here; a 10-person firm pays the same as a 2-person firm on the same tier.

Best for a free start with real volume.

PandaDoc

Best for a free start with real volume.

PandaDoc lists Free at $0 for the whole team, Starter at $19 per seat per month billed annually, Business at $49 and Enterprise at custom pricing on its pricing page (checked 2 Nov 2026). Free includes 60 documents a year with up to 2 recipients per document. Starter includes unlimited documents and e-signatures; Business adds CRM integrations, custom branding and approval workflows. The page offers a 14-day free trial.

Pros:

  • The free plan covers 60 documents a year with no credit card required, the most generous free tier here.
  • Starter includes unlimited documents and e-signatures at $19 per seat per month.
  • Document overage prices are published: $3.50 per document on Starter Monthly, $2 on Starter Annual and $2.60 on Business Monthly.

Cons:

  • The free plan caps each document at 2 recipients.
  • Starter is limited to 5 templates and no CRM integrations, so practice management syncing needs the $49 Business plan.
  • Unused documents do not roll over between billing periods, per the vendor's own FAQ.
  • Price source: PandaDoc, checked 2 Nov 2026.

Price: Free $0; Starter $19 per seat per month (checked 2 Nov 2026).

Who should skip it: firms that need more than 2 recipients per free document, or firms that want CRM integration below Business prices.

Unique detail: PandaDoc publishes per-document overage rates in its pricing FAQ, so extra sends have a known price.

Best for legal-specific signing with built-in SMS.

Vinesign

Best for legal-specific signing with built-in SMS.

Vinesign publishes no prices on its site (checked 2 Nov 2026); plans are named Free Trial, Solo User and Business, all quote only. The 7-day trial includes 30 documents a month with 1 signer per document. The Solo monthly subscription includes 30 documents a month, 20 signers per document and 10 API sends per user a month; Business is multi-user with unlimited sends and bulk sends. Its defining feature is unlimited SMS text messaging for signature requests with selfie identity verification, and it integrates with Filevine to file documents into case records.

Pros:

  • Unlimited SMS text messaging for signature requests is included, which suits clients who ignore email.
  • Selfie identity verification gives signers a phone-based identity check.
  • The Filevine integration autofills contact info and files completed documents into the matter.

Cons:

  • No published prices mean budgeting requires contacting sales.
  • The Solo plan caps sends at 30 documents a month and API sends at 10 per user a month.
  • The free trial allows only 1 signer per document, so multi-party signing cannot be evaluated for free.
  • Price source: Vinesign, checked 2 Nov 2026.

Price: Quote only (checked 2 Nov 2026).

Who should skip it: firms that need a published price before engaging sales, or firms not on Filevine.

Unique detail: the only tool here built for legal professionals, with signature requests by text message and documents filed into Filevine matters.

Which e-signature software is cheapest for a small law firm?

SignNow Basic at $8 per month billed annually is the cheapest paid plan, and every plan includes unlimited users, though send allowances are unstated, so confirm them before buying. PandaDoc's free plan at $0 covers 60 documents a year. Price source: SignNow, checked 2 Nov 2026.

Is DocuSign or Signeasy better for a small law firm?

Signeasy wins on price and send volume: Business costs $20 per seat per month billed yearly with unlimited sends, while DocuSign Standard costs $30 with a 100-envelope annual cap and pay-as-you-go overages. DocuSign wins on recognition, which matters for documents that pass through many hands.

Do clients need an account to sign?

No. Every tool here lets clients sign from an email or text link without an account and without paying. Only your firm's senders need paid seats.

Are electronic signatures legally valid for law firm documents?

Yes, for most documents. The federal ESIGN Act of 2000 gives electronic signatures the same legal effect as handwritten ones; the full text is on Congress.gov. Exceptions remain: wills, some family law matters and certain court filings still require wet ink or follow court rules. Confirm your jurisdiction's requirements and keep the audit trail with the file.

What to check before you buy

  • Count your monthly sends from the last three months.
  • Ask what happens past the send allowance: fixed overage rates, pay-as-you-go billing or a forced upgrade.
  • Confirm signer authentication options and prices; ID verification is metered at most vendors.
  • Check who counts as a paid user and confirm client signers need neither an account nor a seat.
  • Verify the audit trail contents and how long completed documents are stored.
  • Test signing on a phone, since many clients will sign from a text message link.
  • Confirm contract length, renewal terms and document export before you sign.

Frequently asked questions

Which e-signature software is best for a small law firm?

Signeasy is the best fit for most small law firms. Its Business plan costs $20 per seat per month billed yearly, with unlimited sends and a tamper-proof audit trail. Signers pay nothing. Firms whose clients insist on the DocuSign brand should compare DocuSign Personal at $11 per month, capped at 5 envelopes monthly (checked 2 Nov 2026).

What does e-signature software cost for a small law firm?

Expect $8 to $30 per sender per month on annual billing: SignNow Basic starts at $8, Signeasy Business at $20, Dropbox Sign Standard at $25 and DocuSign Standard at $30. PandaDoc's free plan covers 60 documents a year at $0. Watch the meter: DocuSign caps Standard at 100 envelopes per user per year, with pay-as-you-go overages (checked 2 Nov 2026).

Are electronic signatures legally valid for law firm documents?

Yes, for most documents. The federal ESIGN Act of 2000 provides that a signature may not be denied legal effect solely because it is electronic, and the text is published on Congress.gov. Exceptions include wills, some family law matters and certain court filings. Confirm your jurisdiction's rules before e-signing, and keep the audit trail with the file.

Do my clients need an account to sign documents?

No. All six tools let clients sign from an email or text link without an account and without paying. Only your firm's senders need paid seats, so count senders, not clients, when you budget. Dropbox Sign and Signeasy state this on their pricing pages, and Vinesign signs clients by text message with no account required.

How many envelopes does a small law firm need each month?

Most small firms send 10 to 30 signature requests a month: engagement letters, fee agreements, settlement documents and intake packets. That volume breaks DocuSign Personal's 5-envelope monthly cap and strains its Standard 100-per-year allowance. Plans with no send cap, like Signeasy Business or Dropbox Sign Essentials, remove the counting entirely.

Sources

For background on the category, see our contract management hub. Teams comparing document tools can read our review of the best contract management software for construction companies, and startup legal teams can read the best CLM software for in-house legal teams at startups.